Nenagh Youth Races: Results

Over 60 youth riders from all corners of the country travelled to Toomevara today for the Nenagh Youth Cycle Races. They were greeted by sunshine and a light wind which made for good cycling conditions. Today’s race was sponsored by Casey’s Garage in Toomevara and that garage also acted as the sign on spot and race car park. From 10am onwards cyclists started to arrive. Sign-on, put on the gear and numbers, warm-up and before they knew it they were lining up for the start.

Photos and Videos of today’s race can be found on our >> Facebook page

The first race to start was the U/16 race. They had 4 laps of the 9km circuit to do. A breakaway of 3 got away initially and that swelled to 6 after a two laps but the break never got too far up the road. The gap hovered around 20 – 30 seconds. On the final lap the chase bunch put in a huge effort to close the gap with local North Tipp Wheeler rider Joseph Donnelly putting in some big efforts at the front. However they couldn’t quite close the gap. In the end, there was a clear winner, Conor Gallagher Castlebar CC, who broke away from the break on the final lap. The rest of the break just about stayed away and they made up the rest of the top 5.


1st – Conor Gallagher, Castlebar CC

2nd – Kieran Coggins, Tralee BC

3rd – Tomas Walsh, Comeragh CC

4th – David Fitzgerald, Tralee CC

5th – Declan Maloney, Ballina CC

Next up was the U/12 race. They had just 1 lap to do. The pace they set was very tough at the start and this split the bunch to pieces. By the time the finish line came the cyclists were in ones and twos all over the place. First home was Aoife O’Brien. She finished just ahead of Rory Gallagher and Jamie Fuller. Next across the line were Seán Tarrant and Victoria Loplin.

IMG_0169 (2)

1st – Aoife O’Brien, Lakeside Wheelers CC

2nd – Rory Gallagher, Castlebar CC

3rd – Jamie Fuller, Lakeside Wheelers

4th – Seán Tarrant, O’Leary Stone Kanturk

5th – Victoria Loplin

The final race to start was the U/14 race. This was the only race to end in a bunch sprint. The race was very aggressive throughout both laps but nobody could breakaway from the bunch. In the final sprint finish Fionn Desmond got up fot the win. He was followed home by Seán Barrett, Orla Desmond, Meave Gallagher and Nenagh rider Daniel Yon Hin.

IMG_0172 (2)

1st – Fionn Desmond, Galtee Wheelers

2nd – Seán Barrett, Tralee BC

3rd – Orla Desmond, Galtee Wheelers

4th – Meave Gallagher, Castlebar CC

5th – Daniel Yon Hin, Nenagh CC

Congratulations to everyone that took part in this race. The pace of each race looked ferocious so fair play to ye for giving it a go. I am sure we have seen some cycling stars of the future on the roads of Tipperary today.

Nenagh CC Riders: a big congrats to all the Nenagh CC riders that took part today – Daniel Yon Hin, Odhran O’Driscoll, Bill Maher and Emily O’Keeffe. The standard of racing is very high but if ye just keep at it then you will be finishing with the best next year.


Comments are closed.