Nenagh Summer League: Race 2 Results

There was a similar turn out to last week with 29 entrants for this evening’s race. With Rás Mumhan starting tomorrow and two other big stage races on this weekend a number of our faster riders were resting up. That didn’t mean the pace was slow. As usual it was anything but!

The group were once again divided into 3, with some experienced riders riding in the slower groups to keep them organised. This seemed to work well as the bunches stayed together better this week and all 3 bunches made good progress. Thankfully nobody got caught out at the start line as everyone seemed ready for a battle right from the gun.

The first group got a 5 minute head start on the middle group who received a 2 minute head start on the last group. It took until after the turn around at the roundabout before the 3 groups came together. The aim of the Thursday evening race is to make sure all bunches come together so that a bigger focus can be placed on breaking away and racing tactically. A flurry of break went down the road but most didn’t last too long.

Last week the bunch stayed together to the finish line but not this week as Simon Ryan got away in a break with the Upperchurch duo of Martin Burke and John Cahill. The 3 men powered on ahead with the bunch stalling a little behind. Nobody wanted to lead the chase. With only a few miles to go the lead had extended to 30 seconds. The bunch were now battling for 4th.

Simon and John were the first two around the corner at Birdhill and onto the final climb to the finish. Both lads battled hard to the line but Simon just had enough left in the tank to surge away at the end in what is a leg sapping finish. Martin finished just a few seconds behind. Some 25 seconds later Bobby Coleman took the sprint at the front of the bunch with Aaron O’Brien finishing just behind in 5th.

The club would like to thank everyone for turning up. Its early days yet with this league; we hope to grow the numbers a lot over the next few weeks so we would appreciate it if you could help spread the word.

Final Results

1. Simon Ryan

2. John Cahill

3. Martin Bourke

4. Bobby Coleman

5. Aaron O’Brien

Check out the dash for the line (click bottom left corner to play)


Comments are closed.